h1

people of the book…

June 4, 2011

Let me start by saying I loved another of Geraldine Brook’s books – The Year of Wonders…  There were parts of this one I liked – each time she went back to a time in history where the book was travelling – the story was well researched with sympathetic characters most times, but I found I liked the women better…. however, some of the sections were too violent and hateful for me to read.  (Who can make sense of the Inquisition?) The contemporary character Hanna is interesting but I didn’t feel any pathos with her…. it doesn’t happen often – but I couldn’t finish this book!  I have now started Mr Pip (recommended by dear S)

Leave a Reply

