h1

one day this will be me…

August 24, 2010

WARNING
When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
With a red hat which doesn’t go and doesn’t suit me.
And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
And satin sandals, and say we’ve no money for butter.
I shall sit down on the pavement when I’m tired
And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
And run my stick along the public railings
And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
And pick the flowers in other people’s gardens . . .

If you want to read more of this poem and find out about the poet Jenny Joseph – there’s more HERE….

And the picture is courtesy of HERE

3 comments

  1. What rot to red hats not suiting you. You’d only ever do excellent hat. In the meanwhile, I thoroughly intend to do raucous, soggy-footed, speak-my-mind, old bat myself.


  2. Now there’s something to look forward to, start introducing things one by one, slippers in the rain are mildly normal and a good start (if you haven’t already)? Gotta luv that about most oldies, they don’t give a damn, and why should they.
    PS: Sobriety of your youth? Really???


  3. Well i am already noted in my street for going out in my pyjamas- and as for picking flowers from other peoples gardens, its always a good way to collect cuttings, but clearly i can do more and will work on cultivating racous behaviour!



Leave a Reply

