h1

Tutorial – how to make a sheep out of a knitted square…

June 22, 2010

My youngest child is making this sheep as a beginner’s knitting project in Steiner Class 1 (ages 6 – 7)… seeing as the ‘bunny made out of a square’ tutorial has been so popular, I thought I would share this idea with you as well…


You will need to knit a square or slightly rectangular piece in garter stitch (all plain knitting)… this was made with 8 ply (dk) wool and about 4mm needles … but this is a rough guide and the kids usually use thicker wool… then cut out 2 small ear shapes and 2 head shapes out of felt (I didn’t use a pattern – just cut them out free hand.)

Blanket stitch around the head shape leaving the straight edge free to insert stuffing…

Squeeze the small ear shape at the bottom and put a few stitches in to hold that shape…

Attach the ear to head with a few stitches… and stuff the head with a little stuffing…all Steiner toys are made with pure wool materials, but you can use whatever you like.

Fold your piece of knitting in half and sew up one end completely – this is the ‘tail’ end.

Insert and hold head inside the top of the other end of the rectangle and stitch in place with matching thread… use wool to sew up the rest of that end of the body.

When stitching up the bottom of the sheep (the long end) sew up a third, leave a third open in the middle and sew up the last third and secure the wool. This opening is used to stuff your sheep, and it is left OPEN (very important to help the sheep stand up by itself.)

And there’s your sheep… that’s Nim’s sheep in the background and because she did a white face – she did a little stitch for the eye (but it wouldn’t have shown up on the charcoal felt so I didn’t bother on mine…)  Experiment, make and enjoy….

27 comments

  1. These are wonderful!!!! My last name is Wools so I have a special place in my heart for sheep. I am going to have to make a bunch of these for my daughter nursery….and maybe a Little Bo Peep to go with them. Thanks for sharing! I love your sense of whimsy!


  2. Hot. Damn. I’m gonna be makin’ me some sheep!


  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by 1Z Embroidery , Natalie Barnes. Natalie Barnes said: A knitting project I may actually be able to do. Didn't think I'd see the day I could knit something anytime soon… http://bit.ly/cGOW9N […]


  4. These would make the cutest sachets to repel moths from wool sweaters. Wool comes from sheep so why not use sheep to protect wool! Thanks for sharing.


  5. what a cute idea… I do not knit but I love doing creative things , from what I can see you do too. If you like you can take a peak at my blog.
    http://msjajones.wordpress.com/

    keep up the good work
    Jamila


  6. these are to die for! My mum is obsessed with sheep and it’s her birthday on saturday… I may be able to whip one up for her by then! I’m thinking pin cushion! I’ll post my handiwork on my blog with a link to you! Thanks for the inspiration!


    • Wow. What a great idea! I was just asked to teach a friend’s child to crochet-I think I know what her first project should be!


  7. […] – Peluche/oreiller poisson et oiseau, par Better homes| 2 – Moutons tricotés, par Jo so and sew | 3 – Pochette poule crochetée, par Roman Sock | 4 – Marque-pages […]


  8. I have “sheeped” and posted on my blog if you have a moment to check out what you have inspired!!!!!


  9. […] Puedes ver el tutorial completo con fotos en el blog de Jo so & sew. […]


  10. […] via whip up a cute knit sheep pattern that looks so quick and […]


  11. Oh my goodness, these are SO cute! i saw this tutorial yesterday and fell in love.
    They’re adorable 🙂
    i linked this page to my blog. thanks for posting!

    Nomadicsongbird.blogspot.com


  12. Check out Courtney’s fab blue chunky wool sheep here – http://nomadicsongbird.blogspot.com/


  13. heh jo, you are on to a winner here. So i think some basic tutorials are the way to go and aren’t they cute! Sasha has been so excited to tell me where she is up to and how she is going. I am really looking forward to seeing it. xx


  14. gah! That is so adorable! I want an entire flock. I just clicked over from WhipUp where these caught my eye. I would love to link to these little guys if you didn’t mind.


  15. […] Una linda oveja Posted on Agosto 19, 2010 by chileanmama En JO SO & SEW, muestran un tutorial en inglés recomendado para niños de 6-7 años, es muy fácil y lindo. Puedes verlo aquí. […]


  16. Hello Jo!

    Very cute, very easy!
    I did the sheep and are posted on my blog and would be glad if you could see, thanks for the inspiration and the tutorial!

    P.S. “my” sheep are long-long-eared


  17. […] the sheep I more-or-less followed this brilliant tutorial by jo so & sew, though I sewed my stuffing in by giving him a little felt […]


  18. […] – Peluche/oreiller poisson et oiseau, par Better homes| 2 – Moutons tricotés, par Jo so and sew | 3 – Pochette poule crochetée, par Roman Sock | 4 – Marque-pages […]


  19. yay! i loved this!
    1) because i love sheep.
    2) because i had actually knitted a white square in my textiles class in school!

    file://localhost/Users/ashlyn/Pictures/Photo%20Booth/Photo%20on%202011-08-27%20at%2014.42.jpg


  20. Hello Jo
    I would love to share your tutorial with my readers in the next issue to be published around January 7.
    http://www.mespetitesmainsmagazine.net/plumetis-magazine
    Do you mind if I publish it in my online crafty magazine?
    Merry Christmas
    Joyeux Noël


    • Thanks for asking – I am happy for you to publish the tutorial… Jo


  21. […] Visto aquí. […]


  22. Can anyone suggest a way to make these baby proof? I love them but don’t want to gift one with an open tummy.


  23. Hi you mentioned making a bunny out if a square near the top if the article you see I have been trying to make lavender and I thought that the bunny project would be perfect the problem is that I can not find it. If you would be so kind as to post a web link that would be perfect thanks jade xx


  24. Maravioso



Leave a Reply

