h1

a new year’s story…

January 1, 2010

I was semi-awake at dawn New Year’s Day 2010 and the first thought that entered my mind was ‘go out for a walk, meet the day, meet the year’. It had been raining after the heat of yesterday and the dawn was grey. ‘Meet and greet the year’.  So I climbed out the window without disturbing anyone and I was out walking (just as Julia Cameron would have liked)… No-one knew I was gone and it remains ‘my little secret’…. this is how I intend to proceed….

*Note to self – take notebook with you when walking – ideas do come – as Julia says…  (when I saw these green pinecones on the tree I thought they were symbolic of the fresh and new of this year…)

***Addendum – D emailed me about a great Steven Wright line that relates to this –

“I was born by Caesarian section . . . but not so you’d notice. It’s just that when I leave a house, I go out through the window.”

One comment

  1. I love the picture of you climbing out the window (in my head, not on blog) and that cone is so beautiful. I have really been enjoying my walks and do try to take a notebook (when I remember) for all htose pearls (and oysters) that appear out of the depths when walking.
    see you soon
    sarx



Leave a Reply

